Mary's Cottage

Property rating: 3 stars
  • Weeks from £336
  • Short Breaks from £252
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Sleeps: 2
  • 1 Dog(s) welcome (£20/pet)
  • Wi-Fi
  • Woodburner
  • Garden
  • Romantic
  • Close to Pub
  • BBQ

Escape to this idyllic cottage.  Relax in front of the roaring fire, enjoy the sweet little garden, or stroll down the road to the village pub - The White Swan. 

Mary's Cottage is a cosy cottage for 2 in the village of Llanfrynach in the foothills of the Brecon Beacon, with wonderful walks up Fan-y-Big, Cribyn and Pen-y-Fan from the door.  For an easier walk, cycle or a boat trip the Brecon and Monmouthshire Canal and River Usk are both close by.

The lovely Market Town of Brecon is 3 miles away. Further afield, visit the pretty towns of Hay on Wye (35 minutes drive) and Crickhowell (15 minutes) with their bookshops and independent boutiques.

Cottage Accommodation - sleeps 2, 1 bedroom.

This quaint little cottage for two is well equipped, and comfortable.  The kitchen has slate floors, an electric cooker, microwave, washing machine and a fridge (sorry no freezer).  Clever storage includes a boot hole below the stairs. The living room has an antique dining table, re-upholstered chairs, sofa and easy chair and a lovely Persian rug.  An open fire finishes off this cosy retreat for two people.

Up a very steep flight of carpeted ladder stairs to:

Bedroom 1:  A light and bright double bedroom, Orla Kiely bedlinen and a dressing table

Bathroom: The limestone-tiled bathroom has a newly installed shower, a handbasin, toilet and a bath.

Outside is a terrace overlooking a pretty cottage garden (help yourself to apples from the tree) with a terrace with table and chairs and a BBQ, flower beds and a lawn.

Useful Information

* Bedlinen and towels inclusive

*Electricity and oil central heating inclusive 

* Wood supplied for the open fire

* Cot available

* WIFI 

* TV with DVD

* Mobile reception variable

* One well behaved pet welcome but not upstairs.

* Parking outside the cottage

* A covered shed in the garden for mountain bike storage

Cottage History

Across the road is the large churchyard of the ancient St. Brynach church with its Norman tower. There are excellent walks from the doorstep in this picturesque spot. The River Menascin runs through the village while the river  usk and The Brecon and Monmouth Canal are both close by.

Brecon 3 miles. Hay-on-Wye 35 minutes drive away.

If you would like to speak to someone who has visited this property please ask for: Elizabeth, Ceri, Carolyn, Jessica, Ann, Sophie or Edwina

Location

2016 - 2017 Prices (weeks/3 days)

The prices below exclude the £25 booking fee and any other extras such as pets
  • Date
    Per week
    3 Days
  • 2 Sep - 20 Oct 2016:
    £357
    £268
  • 21 Oct - 27 Oct 2016:
    £420
    £315
  • 28 Oct - 15 Dec 2016:
    £336
    £252
  • Christmas:
    £462
    --------
  • New Year:
    £462
    --------
  • 1 Jan - 9 Feb 2017:
    £344
    £258
  • 10 Feb - 23 Feb 2017:
    £366
    £275
  • 24 Feb - 30 Mar 2017:
    £344
    £258
  • 31 Mar - 6 Apr 2017:
    £366
    £275
  • 7 Apr - 20 Apr 2017:
    £431
    £323
  • 21 Apr - 25 May 2017:
    £366
    £275
  • 26 May - 1 Jun 2017:
    £474
    £356
  • 2 Jun - 20 Jul 2017:
    £366
    £275
  • 21 Jul - 31 Aug 2017:
    £431
    £323

Customer Comments

  • Absolutely loved this little cottage, it was beautiful and set in the most gorgeous area. We could only stay the weekend but wish we had a week in this place. The cottage was a couple of doors down from a lovely dog friendly pub which worked well for us and not too far from trails/walks. The cottage itself is small but was fine for us and full of character, our favourite was the fire place. We had a lovely stay and would definitely book again! Be prepared, the nearest shop is 3 miles away, so make sure you stop off before you get there!!
  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. ++Excellent

    Well organised, clean and a beautiful cottage

    Thank you for your feedback 

    Kind Regards Ceri 

    10-Sep-2016

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. +Good

    Service rating : The Brecon Beacons Holiday Cottage team was very helpful in choosing a cottage which would be suitable for me, my partner and our dog.
    Product : We have reciently returned from a 3 night getaway in Mary's Cottage.
    The cottage was in a great location, close to everything we needed whilst we were there. We had one sunny day in Wales which we took full advantage of by having a BBQ in the evening and being mesmerised by the stary sky at night.
    It was a little smaller than expected, and was located directly opposite a grave yard.
    The garden also is not fully enclosed, it connects to the neighbours house which caused us a few problems with the dog.
    Other than that it we throughly enjoyed our trip to the Brecon Beacons.

    Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Marys Cottage. We will review our description to make it clear the garden is not fully enclosed but hopefully the sunshine and clear night skies made up for this. Regards Edwina

    31-Aug-2016

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. +Good

    Service rating : All very straight forward, no problems at this stage at all.
    Product : We wouldn't rate the cottage as poor perhaps fairly good but room for improvement. The toaster didn't work at all, the wash hand basin plug needed some attention, not all the lights over the stairs were working. The overgrown shrub had to be cut with a pair of kitchen scissors so that we could have access to our family next door. I did expect to find a hair dryer.
    A very large parcel was delivered while the properties were empty& left at the back of the cottages,we don't know who for, we did feel that there should be some way of securing the side door entrance.
    In general the cottage was lacking in TLC

    Many thanks for your feedback-  We are in the process of redecorating and freshening up the decor. Such a shame you didn't let us know re the toaster as we would have bought a new one straight away. We don't generally check the toaster in between bookings but would have changed immediately if a previous guest had told us it wasn't working. The cottage is in a beautiful, quiet village and we have never had any problems with break ins etc so I don't think a lock on the gate is necessary. 


    Liz - Owner of Mary's Cottage 

    16-Aug-2016

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. +Good

    Service rating : the company was very good and admin dealt with effectively.
    Product : the cottage was pleasant and in a nice location. however, the overall maintenance and upkeep of the cottage was below what we expected.

    Thank you for providing feedback please see below the owner's response:-

    "Thank you for your feedback. We're so glad you like Mary's Cottage.  We are now in the process of redecorating and freshening up the décor."

    Kind regards

    Carolyn

    26-Jul-2016

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. +Good

    Service rating : Prompt reliable booking serbice
    Product : Compact clean well equipped cottage, delightful garden ideally situated for walking but short drive to local amenities in Brecon

    19-Jul-2016

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. ++Excellent

    Service rating : Brecon Beacons cotteges were amazing as they were full of information about the area and very helpful throughout the purchase of the holiday. It was very easy to do and gave us all the best options.
    Product : Absolutely loved staying in Mary's cottege! It was a lovely little house with character and was in a beautiful area. Would love to go back sometime and explore more.

    Thank you for your feedback - so glad you enjoyed your stay at Marys Cottage which is in a great to explore the area, look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

    Kind Regards Ceri 

    14-Jun-2016

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. +Good

    Service rating : Very helpful
    Product : The cottage was comfortable and had all we needed, although the rooms were not quite as large as they looked on the photos. The decor of the bathroom in particular was rather tired. The stairs were certainly steep! We liked the little garden and enjoyed sitting out when it was warm enough to do so when we got home from our walks. Plenty of good walks,either from the door or a short drive away. Llanfrynach is well situated and is very quiet. A lovely area.

    Thank you for letting us know about your stay at Mary's Cottage.

    And thank you for your constructive comments, the property is scheduled to be decorated in the near future.

    We hope to welcome you back to the area sometime in the near future.

    Best Wishes
    Jessica

    27-Apr-2016

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. +Good

    Service rating : Very efficient service. Warm and friendly staff.
    Product : Mary's is really cute, well equipped and quiet. We particularly loved the light-filled bedrooom and open fire in the sitting room which kept us really cosy. We were lucky enough to spot the hedgehog (thanks to the unseasonally warm weather it obviously hadn't hibernated yet!) in the garden. We had a fantastic walk up nearby Cwm Oergwm which had been recommended by the owner.

    Thank you for your review - Mary's Cottage is a lovely cosy property perfect in front of the open fire after a day out walking in the Beacons. The weather certainly is unseasonable at the moment and hope the little hedgehog is tucked up before the snow comes to the Brecon Beacons!

    Kind Regards Ceri
    Brecon Beacons Holiday Cottages

    30-Nov-2015

  • Comments collected by independent review service Feefo. ++Excellent

    Service rating : Originally went through Tripadvisor and was inundated with replies which was confusing - I booked 2 cottages instead of 1.
    Once this was sorted everything was fine.
    Product : Everything you could want for a couple. Lovely and comfortable , los of walks from the cottage and dog friendly.
    Only thing missing was a hairdryer.

    Thank you for your lovely review and I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brecon Beacons sometime in the future.

    Kind regards

    Carolyn

    26-Oct-2015

Prices and Availability